That’s the Way It Is


Tonight I came home from a long week of work to hear the news that Walter Cronkite has died. The legendary CBS News anchor was 92. As a child I remember watching the news together as a family before we would eat dinner. I’m 43 and my earliest childhood members of TV news involve images of the fighting in Vietnam and Cambodia. I wasn’t sure what it was all about but I it was important — my parents stopped what they were doing to watch what Cronkite said.

Our family trusted him.

As NBC’s Brian Williams said on MSNBC tonight, when the poll came out in the 70s saying that Cronkite was the most trusted man in America, the title stuck.

Since then, other anchors haven’t measured up to Cronkite in my view. Williams said a friend of his once quipped, Cronkite addressed the nation, other just read the news.

My hope is that Cronkite’s family knows how grateful the American people will always be for the time in their lives they gave up so their husband and father could give some of his life to us.

I know I’m grateful. That’s the way it is. July 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

